“Legitimate Rape”

People have understandably had a lot to say about Todd Akin (R-MO).

First of all, I want to make it clear that the fact that my male peers have spoken out against him says absolutely zero to me about what they themselves think about female agency during sex.

But I also want to point out that by naming a concept called “legitimate rape” and by stating that he believes that it so common as to have resulted in a biological mechanism to defend against it, the congressman is admitting that rape does in fact happen for real.

I’m not saying that the congressman himself denies that rape really happens.  But we all know that the idea exists that there’s no such thing as actual rape, not that no one believes that one human being would steal from another (clearly they do, which is a great piece of evidence for my theory that people consider male assholishness so normalized as to not even be considered a thing; no one would ever deny that people steal money and material objects but many deny, maybe even genuinely, that people steal sex), but that if two people have sex and the woman says it was nonconsensual, well, she should probably just get over it because she probably kind of wanted it anyway because what woman doesn’t want sex, right, except for a sick or evil woman?  Some people think it’s not true that real rape happens, not because they don’t believe in theft or force or violence but because if a woman said she didn’t want to have sex with someone, she is probably misunderstanding her own emotions and deep down really did want to fuck him so she should come to realize it, she will anyway if you give her enough time.

So I’m glad that the congressman said that, I mean he thought it anyway, and he made his policy according to it anyway, so now we know that he thinks it and we know that he has acknowledged that at least some rape is real.

2 comments
  1. warwhores said:

    First of all, I want to make it clear that the fact that my male peers have spoken out against him says absolutely zero to me about what they themselves think about female agency during sex.

    I think that bespeaks volumes of your opinion of your male counterparts. I would so love to jump up and down and say that the opinion is misguided but it most assuredly isn’t. We haven’t moved far past the raping and pillage part of our predecessors. At least, not that I’ve seen. Or at least, not that I’m aware of.

    Akin at least declared what, assuredly, many men felt true deep down inside. A declaration is the beginning to the argument and the resolution. Sadly, I think instead of having that dialogue – asking instead of simply answering with impotent outrage that is surely to fade away as fast as it sprung up – we’ll simply file it away in the “crazed commentaries” section of the DVD library.

    • You bring up a good point that I wanted to articulate here but couldn’t find a way to. Part of the reason I don’t care what my male counterparts have to say about this is because I know they have taken the opportunity to have a real conversation and filled it with outrage, as you said. It’s hard to say how many of them did that because they don’t know/don’t truly care about the real issue, and how many did it deliberately because they understand that it was an opportunity to have a real dialogue about rape and wanted to avoid that, but either way I do not feel appreciative for their response even if it was against Akin on the surface.

      Thank you for your honesty.

Leave a Reply

